Artspan Work of the Week: After the Storm by Mark Harris

After the storm

I spotted this tree just outside of Stafford, England. I was taken by the oaks’ age, textures and visual impact. The light on it was extraordinary, which was further enhanced by the wet surfaces.

I endeavoured to put a feeling of motion to the composition, enhancing the flowing, upward growth thrust of the trunk. The bark and its occasional absence also emphasised the massiveness and presence of the ancient oak. This picture is also about time. The oak is centuries old. It has lived so long the centre of the trunk has rotted away, leaving the characteristic twin sections. The passing storm has had its own time frame, perhaps passing in an hour or so. Finally the water dripping from the centre of the bark is happening in the blink of an eye. Although I also do portraits and abstracts, I continue to be fascinated by the effects of light in nature. On my websites you can see that I have tried to capture the various moods and lighting conditions of beaches, woods and the countryside.

I will continue to explore how things work visually when light is bounced off them. Textures also interest me, as evident in my abstracts, which are very tactile and stimulating to the sense of touch. Plenty to go at then!

See more of Mark’s work on the Artspan website HERE

Leave a comment